Opening Night at Symphony Hall September 20, 2012

Nélida Nassar  09.17.2012

Antonín Dvořák: Waltz in A Major, Op. 54 No. 1, Silhouette in D Flat Major, Op. 8 #2
Silhouette in B Minor, Op. 8 No. 8, From “Two Little Pearls”: Sousedska “Little Grandfather Dances with Little Grandmother”, Mazurka in G minor Op. 56 No. 3,
Waltz in F Minor, Op. 54 No. 7
Lydia Artymiw, piano

Ernest Chausson: Le Charme, Le Colibri, Sérénade italienne, Le temps des lilas,
Chanson perpétuelle
Kendra Colton, voice
Eliko Akahori, piano

Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quintet no. 2 in A Major, Op. 81
Bayla Keyes, violin
Julia Glenn, violin
Roger Tapping, viola
Natasha Brofsky, cello
Lydia Artymiw, piano

2012 – 2113 Opening Night at Symphony Hall
Legendary Israeli-born violinist Itzhak Perlman joins the Boston Symphony Orchestra as both soloist and conductor to begin the 2012-2013 season with an all-Beethoven Opening Night at Symphony.  The program starts with the composer’s lyrical early Romances No. 1 and 2 for violin and orchestra.  Completing the program is the dance infused Symphony
No. 7 which Perlman acknowledged as one of his finest works.

Originally Published in Berkshire Fine Arts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.